A ‘What happens when …?’ situation in Cricket

This happened yesterday in the ongoing test between India and SA. Kallis was running in to bowl to VVS Laxman when a bird flew right in front of VVS. Kallis stopped his run-in and  the ball was declared dead. Now, what would have happened if he had delivered the ball and VVS had got out due to the bird obscuring his vision or diverting his attention? Or what if the ball had hit the bird and then chopped the stumps (or hitting the pads with the batsman plumb in front or the batsman nicking it?) Nice situation, huh? It would be good hearing cricket rules for such odd situations from umpires/cricket gurus.

Advertisements

One Response to “A ‘What happens when …?’ situation in Cricket”

  1. aravind Says:

    ball would be declared dead if it hits the bird…if laxman moves out of the crease because of obstruction, he would be declared not out and the ball would be declared dead…if he is stupid enough to play and miss, then it would be treated as a normal delivery..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: